We Serve Throughout the State of Colorado

Denver Personal Injury Lawyers

The recognized leaders in personal injury law

How long can a truck driver drive in Denver, CO?

Truck accident victims often suffer severe, life-altering injuries due to the sheer size and weight of commercial trucks. While a range of factors can contribute to these accidents, the length of time a truck driver spends on the road is often an underlying cause.

To combat this, both government agencies and private trucking companies have regulations in place to limit how long a truck driver can drive.

At Zaner Harden Personal Injury Lawyers we’ve seen first-hand the consequences of fatigued truck driving. When we help truck accident injury victims file claims against truck drivers, the regulations limiting commercial driving hours often come into play.

If you or a loved one has been injured in a Colorado truck accident, contact our Denver law firm at (720) 613-9706 for a free consultation, or read on to learn more about these regulations.

how long can a truck driver drive

Maximum driving time allowed under the law

The laws establishing the maximum driving time are primarily regulated by federal authorities, with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), an agency under the United States Department of Transportation, having a key role in these regulations.

The FMCSA has set hours-of-service (HOS) regulations that limit the length of time a truck driver can operate a vehicle based on certain conditions. They’re designed to prevent truck drivers from driving while fatigued, thus reducing the risk of accidents.

11-hour/14-hour limits

Under HOS regulations, property-carrying truck drivers are limited to 11 hours of active driving after 10 consecutive hours off duty. This means they must take at least a 10-hour break between each 11-hour period of driving.

Aside from the active driving limit, truck drivers must also take into account their 14-hour “on duty” limit. This includes any time spent in the truck, even if the driver isn’t actually driving.

After 14 consecutive hours on duty, the driver must have at least 10 consecutive hours off duty. The 14-hour period can’t be extended, even if the driver has taken multiple breaks during that period.


Several exceptions apply to these limits, but one of the most common is the adverse driving condition exception. When a commercial truck driver encounters unanticipated adverse conditions behind the wheel, they may extend the 11-hour limit by up to two hours.

The FMCSA defines “adverse driving conditions” as unusual conditions to the road or traffic. Examples include bad weather (such as snow or ice) or a significant traffic jam due to an accident.

30-minute break rule

In addition to the 11- and 14-hour limits, FMCSA regulations also mandate a 30-minute break after 8 consecutive hours of commercial truck driving. Any period of 30 consecutive minutes not spent behind the wheel may satisfy this requirement.

60/70-hour limit

Truck drivers must also adhere to limits on their weekly on-duty time. Those who don’t drive every day of the week are subject to a limit of 60 hours on duty in a period of seven consecutive days.

Drivers who drive daily have a limit of 70 hours on duty in eight consecutive days. Between seven or eight consecutive days, all commercial truck drivers must take at least 34 consecutive hours off duty.

Additional restrictions may apply

Trucking companies may, in addition to the above regulations, impose their own limits on how long a driver can drive. The FMCSA limits are simply the minimum regulations a trucking company must abide by, and companies are free to enforce stricter regulations on their drivers if they wish.

For example, many trucking companies impose their own “10-hour rule,” which limits drivers to 10 hours of driving time on any given day, rather than the 11-hour limit mandated by the FMCSA.

These additional restrictions, while not legally required, can help trucking companies lower their accident risk and prevent drivers from teetering the line of HOS regulations.

These regulations aren’t always enough. That’s where we come in.

While federal regulations are a step in the right direction, truck accidents still occur far too often. Eleven hours at the wheel, while legally allowed, can be extremely taxing on drivers, and there are minimal regulations on the amount of sleep a truck driver must have between shifts. These effects can be even more pronounced when drivers disregard the regulations altogether.

When attorneys with Zaner Harden Law take on a case, we look at all factors that may have contributed to the wreck, including adherence to HOS regulations. We understand that these limits are important for a driver’s safety and the safety of all drivers on the road, which is why we fight for justice relentlessly when violations are discovered.

Even when regulations are followed, accidents can still occur due to a combination of factors, including negligent driving and faulty equipment.

If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident involving a commercial truck, don’t wait to get help. Contact our truck accident lawyers in Denver today for a free consultation. Together, we can fight for the compensation you deserve.

Contact our Denver Truck Accident Lawyers at Zaner Harden Personal Injury Lawyers Today For Help

For more information please contact Zaner Harden Personal Injury Lawyers to schedule a free initial consultation with a Denver truck accident lawyer.

Zaner Harden Personal Injury Lawyers

1610 Wynkoop Street, Suite 120. Denver, CO 80202
(720) 613 9706


Where We Are

We are located across the street from Union Station in downtown Denver and offer validated parking for all our clients. We also have offices in Boulder and Colorado Springs.